Laine AI Pricing and Laine Cost Per User for US Law Firms

Laine publishes its prices: $350 a month for one user up to $7,499 for 22, with Enterprise on quote. Here is the cost per lawyer, what a firm your size pays a year, and what to ask about capacity and overage.

Chart of Laine AI plan prices divided by users per plan, from $250 to $350 per user a month, next to CaseClerk Solo at $99 for the account

Laine AI pricing starts at $350 a month for one user and runs to $7,499 a month for up to 22 users, according to the pricing page on laine.ai. Yearly billing gets two months free, so the Solo plan is $3,500 a year. Enterprise is quoted by sales. Prices exclude VAT, every plan except Enterprise has a 7 day free trial, and usage above each plan's included capacity is billed as overage.

That makes Laine one of the few legal AI vendors that prints a price at all. Harvey, Spellbook, LegalOn and CoCounsel all route you to a demo. This page lays out the Laine plans, works out what each one costs per lawyer, shows what a firm of your size would pay in a year, and lists the questions to settle before you start the trial.

How much does Laine AI cost?

Laine costs $350, $999, $2,499, $4,999 or $7,499 a month, depending on how many users you need, with Enterprise on quote. The plans are sized by user bands rather than sold per seat, so a firm pays for the band it falls into. At full seats that works out to between $250 and $350 per user a month.

PlanMonthlyYearlyUsersPer user a month at full seatsWhat the page lists
Solo$350$3,5001$350Guided drafting, included monthly capacity, usage overage, custom logo
Pro$999$9,9904$250Everything in Solo, team collaboration, priority email support
Boutique$2,499$24,9909$278Everything in Pro
Practice$4,999$49,99015$3333x the included capacity, lower per action cost
Firm$7,499$74,99022$3416x the included capacity, priority processing, advanced team management
EnterpriseContact salesContact salesUnlimitedQuoteHighest capacity, lowest overage rate, dedicated support

The per user column is our arithmetic, not Laine's: the monthly price divided by the maximum number of users on the plan. A firm that does not fill its band pays more per person. Five lawyers on the Boutique plan, for example, pay about $500 each a month, because the next band down stops at four users.

What does Laine charge per user?

Between $250 and $350 per user a month if you fill the plan, and more if you do not. The cheapest per head is Pro, at $999 for four users. Oddly, the larger bands cost more per user than Pro: Practice works out to about $333 and Firm to about $341. What you buy with the larger plans is capacity rather than a seat discount, since Practice includes three times and Firm six times the base allowance, plus a lower per action rate.

That matters because Laine's plans have a usage meter. The pricing page says each plan includes monthly capacity, and usage beyond it is billed at a published per use rate, added to the next invoice. The page we read did not state the capacity numbers or the overage rate, so ask for both in writing before the trial ends. A firm that drafts a lot can easily outgrow Solo.

What would Laine cost a firm like mine?

Here is the smallest plan that fits common US firm sizes, with the yearly and monthly totals. Yearly billing saves two months.

Firm sizeSmallest Laine plan that fitsMonthlyPaid yearlyPaid monthly for 12 months
Solo attorneySolo$350$3,500$4,200
3 lawyersPro (up to 4)$999$9,990$11,988
6 lawyersBoutique (up to 9)$2,499$24,990$29,988
12 lawyersPractice (up to 15)$4,999$49,990$59,988
20 lawyersFirm (up to 22)$7,499$74,990$89,988

Two cautions. First, the totals are list prices before VAT or sales tax and before any overage. Second, the jump between bands is steep: a fifth lawyer moves a firm from $999 to $2,499 a month. If you are at the edge of a band, ask whether Laine will sell an extra seat on the smaller plan.

Is Laine credit based or a subscription?

The pricing page says Laine is a subscription, with included monthly capacity and metered overage. Laine's page for law firms describes the model differently, as credits consumed per action with no per seat subscription and no annual license. Both pages were live when we checked. The safest reading is a subscription that buys a block of usage, with each draft, review or signature using up part of it. Ask the sales team which description your contract will follow and what one draft or one review consumes.

What do you get for the money?

Laine is a contract drafting and review platform. Its site lists guided drafting for more than 50 document types, an editor with tracked changes, document review in several modes, playbooks that hold your firm's preferred positions and fallback clauses, and negotiation support. It says it supports all 50 US states, with a native document library for Delaware, California, New Jersey and New York law, and a multi jurisdiction template where you choose the governing state.

On security, Laine states ISO 27001 certification, SOC 2 Type II compliance, GDPR and CCPA/CPRA compliance, and that your content is never retained or used for training. The company is Swiss, Laine Neural Network SA, and it runs separate US, Swiss and UAE versions of the site. If your clients send outside counsel security questionnaires, ask for the SOC 2 report itself and for where US customer data is processed.

Laine vs Spellbook and other contract AI on price

Laine is the only one of the common contract AI tools that shows its prices without a call. That is useful even if you buy something else, because it gives you a benchmark of roughly $250 to $350 per lawyer a month to hold a quote against.

ToolPriceHow you try itMain job
LainePublished: $350 to $7,499 a month by user band7 day trialContract drafting, review, playbooks, negotiation
SpellbookNot published. Custom, by number of team members7 day trialContract drafting and review inside Word
HarveyNot published. Sales led, reported seat minimumsDemoEnterprise legal AI across research, drafting, review
LegalOnNot published. QuoteDemoContract review against playbooks
CaseClerkPublished: $99, $249, $499 and $998 a month for the account25 pages, up to 5 files, no cardReading a matter file and answering with the source document

For the quote-only vendors, see our breakdowns of what a Spellbook seat costs, Harvey AI pricing and seat minimums and LegalOn pricing per user. If you are shortlisting more broadly, our Harvey alternatives for small firms compares nine tools on posted prices.

Is Laine worth it for a small US firm?

It is worth it if drafting first versions of agreements is where your hours go. A transactional solo who drafts employment agreements, NDAs and commercial contracts every week can recover $350 a month quickly. The fit is weaker if your drafting is light and the real time sink is reading what the other side sent, or reviewing a pile of executed agreements during due diligence. Laine also covers signature workflows and archiving, which overlaps with a contract lifecycle management system you may already pay for, so check for double spend before you sign.

Before the 7 day trial runs out, settle five things: the capacity included in your plan, the overage rate, whether a sixth or tenth user forces the next band, whether yearly billing can be cancelled mid term (the FAQ says no refunds for unused months), and whether the US document library covers your governing law.

When a reading tool is the cheaper answer

Plenty of firms that look at Laine are not short of drafting help. They are short of time to read: the 300 page lease portfolio, the data room with 600 contracts, the amendments that changed the payment terms twice. That is a different job, and it is the one CaseClerk does.

You upload every document for a matter, up to 1,000 files in 20 formats including scanned PDFs, and ask in plain English, for example "which of these agreements has a change of control clause" or "what notice period applies after the second amendment". Each answer names the document it came from, so you can check it in seconds. CaseClerk does not draft contracts. It costs $99 a month for 2,500 pages, $249 for 10,000 or $499 for 30,000, for the account rather than per lawyer, and you can see how that compares on our AI contract review software for law firms page or go straight to plans and pricing.

Laine AI pricing questions

Does Laine have a free trial?

Yes. Laine offers a 7 day free trial on the Solo, Pro, Boutique, Practice and Firm plans, per its pricing page. Enterprise goes through sales. Check what happens to your drafts and playbooks if you do not convert, and whether the trial includes the same capacity as the paid plan.

Can I cancel Laine anytime?

Monthly plans can be cancelled before the next billing cycle, and access runs to the end of the month with no refund for the current period. Yearly plans can be cancelled before renewal, with access to the end of the paid term and no refund for unused months, according to Laine's FAQ.

Is Laine available in the United States?

Yes. Laine says it supports all 50 states, runs a US app domain and lists CCPA/CPRA compliance. Its native document library currently names Delaware, California, New Jersey and New York law, so confirm coverage if you practice elsewhere.

Are Laine prices in US dollars?

The pricing page shows prices with a dollar sign, excluding VAT, with tax calculated at checkout by location. It does not state a currency code, so confirm the billing currency on the checkout screen before you enter a card.

Put one matter in a vault and ask it the question you would ask a colleague

Sign up